top of page

Blog Hop - Week 4 and Riley Blake/MQG Fabric Challenge

This week I have been busy quilting my entry to the MQG/Riley Blake Fabric Challenge to get it in time for the deadline, July 31st.

The challenge is to make something quilted that you've never done before, so I tried my hand on raw-edge applique. This challenge uses fabrics from The Cottage Garden line by The Quilted Fish. This line is so beautiful, I had to jump on the opportunity to work with those fabrics. I tried to use mainly the Fat Eights that were provided, plus Riley Blake Solid background, which luckly I found at a nearby Jackman's - that was the only RB color they had and it worked great with the prints. But since I bought some more of The Cottage Garden Wallpaper in Teal for the backing, I added a couple more applique flowers to the top.

I am using a matchstick quilting for the "striped" area - the piecing is about 0.25"-1.25".

On the applique and some of the background I quilted some free-motion flowers. The rest of the background will most likely be more matchstick quilting. I don't have everything planned out yet. Is that crazy? Do you always plan or sketch your quilting?

I can't wait to finish it, but I still have a lot of work ahead of me and not enough time, so wish me luck!

Don't forget to check out the last week of the New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop. This is week 4 and I had a great time getting to know those other bloggers. Last week I wrote a bit about me and how I started blogging - if you missed that, click here to read.

Don't miss out on this week's giveaway - here.

Our hive, the Quantum Quilters is hosted by none other than Yvonne @Quilting Jetgirl - Quantum Quilters Blog Hop Week 4 & Giveaway

And this week's bloggers are:

Make sure to check out the other three hives by clicking on their hosts links below.

I hope you have fun with this week's bloggers. Leave them a comment to spread some love, enter the awesome giveaway and have a great week. This was a fun ride, thanks for tagging along.

For more info on the past weeks, visit this post on Quilting Jetgirl.

xoxo, Silvia.

PS: Forgive my lack of high-techness for if you do leave me a comment, I'll answer right here on the blog. This platform won't allow email responses, so I do hope you come back to continue our chat. If that's a problem, please feel free to chat through email @ astrangerviewblog@gmail.com. Sorry for the inconvenience! xo.

Featured Posts
Follow me
  • Instagram Clean
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Flickr Clean
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page