top of page

My MQG Fabric Challenge quilt is done!

I am excited to show you my finished MQG Fabric Challenge quilt. I called it "Bibi": Unto Milhazes, because the work of Brazilian artist Beatriz Milhazes called Bibi was the inspiration for this quilt. If you haven't seen her work, you should.

Fun Facts: Me and Beatriz are from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and we also went to the same undergrad school many years apart. We find inspiration on the same artists/styles, such as Matisse and Mondrian. Isn't this fun?

I did raw-edge appliqué for the first time and it was a fun process trying to figure out how to work the complicated piled-up desing. You can see the steps of my work in progress on my previous post.

The quilting was a challenge on itself. I mixed straight line, with free-motion and matchstick quilting. I've been working on this for so long that I was definitely ready to be done, but I do love the end result.

Can we talk about that nice matched back? I don't usually do whole piece fabric for the back, because of the matching - it's time consuming, but here is one that I did and the result is great. I made it a game to try to find the seam. :D

What are your sources of inspiration? I would love to know.

xo, S.

PS: Forgive my lack of high-techness for if you do leave me a comment, I'll answer right here on the blog. This platform won't allow email responses, so I do hope you come back to continue our chat. If that's a problem, please feel free to chat through email @ astrangerviewblog@gmail.com. Sorry for the inconvenience! xo.

Featured Posts
Follow me
  • Instagram Clean
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Flickr Clean
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page