top of page

Technicolor Galaxy all done and 2016 Cloud 9 New Block hop

It is done! I can't believe it!

This was more work than I had expected. There were times that I did not feel like working on it anymore, but the curiosity and excitement of seeing it done won over those times. I wanted to practice FMQ with this project. I believe that I got a lot better on FMQ after quilting all this. There are a lot of patchwork and quilting techniques in there, such as improv, bias tape appliqué, foundation paper piecing, piece-liqué circle, hexies, raw-edge appliqué, folded edge appliqué, hand-quilting, straight line quilting, but mostly free motion quilting. All this while doing the quilt-as you-go technique.

Here are a few more things that I've learned:

1) Trying something challenging is ALWAYS rewarding at the end

2) Getting out of my comfort zone is also rewarding

3) I should make more rainbow quilts -but probably won't

4) Quilt-as-you-go is great, but not my thing (still, I'm so glad I've done it)

5) I might never sign up for a year long project (that actually took almost two - a year and nine months to be precise). The amount of time I've put on this is unbelievable. Probably hundreds of hours and with that comes a struggle to power through but also a lot of love and appreciation.

I will be honest, when I signed up for this, the design wasn't my type. I thought it was cool, but it wasn't my thing. I wanted to try it anyway because I like to learn new techniques and see how other people do things differently from me, which still means learning to me. In the end though, I really loved every piece of this. I am glad I muted the center points, focusing on the circles of this design. It is a lot more ME this way.

All I can say is thank you Alyssa (pileofabric)! This was crazy, wild and amazing!

Worthy for sure!

Have you ever tried something you thought it was crazy and then thought it was totally worthy in the end?

Check out my previous posts on this project here, here, here, here, and here.

Don't forget to check out my block for the 2016 Cloud9 new block hop tomorrow.

Until then, check out the amazing blocks of today's hop:

Host: Yvonne @Quilting Jetgirl

Cheers,

Silvia

Featured Posts
Follow me
  • Instagram Clean
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Flickr Clean
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page