top of page

Fairs and workshops

I have been a little MIA here. I am prepping for a fair this Saturday, which I have no idea of what to expect. I was invited to put my quilts there a couple of months ago by one of the event organizers and thought I would give it a try. I am also making some pillows and table runners in addition to the quilts I already have on hand, which I have posted mostly here or on IG. I don't know how many people go to a fair planning on buying a quilt, so I am not expecting much. Next week, I will be at the Edwardsville Arts Fair, which is a big deal. I'll be sharing a booth with my husband and his prints. This is a juried arts fair, so I am excited to just be able to get in and show my work there. The Edwardsville Arts Center regularly posts pictures of the artists works that will be at the fair, and it's humbling to be among so many talented people. Again, I don't know if there will be much selling, but it's exciting nonetheless.

Other news is that I just did a workshop with Elizabeth Hartman through my guild, the STLMQG. I did the Fox and Hedgehog and it was so much fun. I can't wait to finish it. I actually want to make the quilts for my girls.

Elizabeth gave us some scraps to chose from and I picked the fox print, which obsviously ended up as a fancy fox face. I love this! My other print fox is all cut up and waiting to be joined.

Next week I'll be divided between the Arts Fair and a Carolyn Freidlander workshop. I'll leave the fair for half a day to do the Catenary/needle turn appliqué class. I had signed up for that months before the fair and realized the overlap after I was accepted. I am super excited. So much going on this month of September. Next month I'll be free to work on my QuiltCon quilts.

So, that's what's been going on. What you've been up to?

You can find me now on Periscope as astrangerview or search for Silvia Sutters. Have you downloaded that app yet? What do you think? I am still trying to figure it out, but I do like getting to know other quilters better as I watch their broadcasts. Plus, it's fun to interact with them and other sewists. :)

That's all for today! Have a great sewing day!

xo, S.

Featured Posts
Follow me
  • Instagram Clean
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Flickr Clean
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page