top of page

Blogger's Quilt Festival - Fall 2015

It's that time of the year! The Blogger's Quilt Festival held by Amy's Creative Side is happening.

This time I am entering my Riley Blake/MQG Challenge quilt, the Bibi: Unto Milhazes.

The off-grid background was made with Fat-Eights provided. I pieced the F8's into striped blocks and then added the negative space around. The flower cluster was all cut separate and machine appliqued on top of the off-grid background. This was my first time doing raw-edge machine applique and I feel that I learned a lot in the process - thanks to my Instagram/Guild quilters' friends.

For the quilting, I mixed some flower FMQ design and straight line quilting in different widths.

There was not a plan for the quilting, so it was fun to see the design developing as I quilted, but I love how the end result was an echo of the whole design.

I love this quilt and the texture that the quiting created. The monocromatic color is so calming.

That is why I am entering this quilt to the Blogger's Quilt Festival. I am entering it into the Applique category.

What do you think? Do you mix straight line/walking foot quilting with free-motion quilting too? Have you ever tried an off-grid design?

Happy weekend.

xo, S.


Featured Posts
Follow me
  • Instagram Clean
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Flickr Clean
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page