top of page

Rowing Paddle Quilt and The Quilter's Planner

Nothing like thinking of Summer in December. You know you do it. Remember my Rowing Paddle Block for the 2015 Fabri-Quilt new block hop?

* You can find this paper-piecing pattern and directions on my blog post here or download it on Craftsy here.

I have made a quilt with that block and I love it so much! I really want to make another one. Maybe with some Anna Maria Horner prints? Or even better, Loominous? Or Alison Glass' Indigo? What about Carcai? A girl can dream about having all those fabrics, right? I made this one with Kona Solids (Rich Red, Royal and White) and it looks very nautical.

I did use a beautiful Alexander Henry canvas on the back, which unfortunately I think shrunk up more than my top Kona Cotton even though I had pre-washed everything. I don't usually pre-wash, but when I use red I prefer to, in order to avoid a scary looking bleed. And when you wash one, you have to wash it all.

My pieced back is not perfectly matched, but it's pretty close.

This block is been featured on The Quilter's Planner. Stephanie Palmer from Late Night Quilter has designed a wonderful planner for us quilters with patterns, FMQ design spaces and much more. I cannot wait to get my copy. To learn more about it, visit her site or The Quilter's Planner's site. The Indiegogo campaing is still happening, but you can also order it from shops like Fat Quarter Shop. *I don't get any compensation to post this. I am just sharing because I think it's pretty cool. Plus, my block is in it, so it's double cool!

So, tell me. Do you like to paper-piece? What fabric or colors would you use for this quilt?

Have a great sewing day!

xo, S.

Featured Posts
Follow me
  • Instagram Clean
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Flickr Clean
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page